OpenSUSE 13: Change YaST's color theme

This article will describe changing YaST's color theme in text mode.

1 My terminal color theme

My terminal color theme uses black as background and white as character. Because I feel it is hard to see character in case of black as background and blue as character, I change blue to orange in terminal settings.

In my terminal, YaST in text mode is displayed as below. Orange as background is not good for me (Blue is good).

0001_default.png

2 Y2NCURSES_COLOR_THEME in /etc/sysconfig/yast2

Y2NCURSES_COLOR_THEME in /etc/sysconfig/yast2 changes YaST's color theme in text mode.

## Type: string(linux,xterm,rxvt,mono,inverted,highcontrast,braille)
## Default: ""
# Color theme for YaST ncurses UI
# xterm: blue-white-red
# linux: blue-white-yellow
# rxvt: black-yellow-red
# mono: white-black
# inverted: black-white
# highcontrast: lightgrey-black
# braille: for visually impaired
Y2NCURSES_COLOR_THEME=""

This article shows rxvt and highcontrast.

2.1 rxvt

This theme uses black as background.

0002_rxvt.png

2.2 highcontrast

This theme uses grey as background.

0003_highcontrast.png